Aztext Press

Life Off-the-Grid

I Quit Facebook

By Cam Mather

Facebook sucks!

I don’t even know why I joined, but after being on it for a while, I think it really bites.

Most of all, I’m creeped out by all the data Facebook keeps about me. I have no doubt there are numerous other ways I’m being tracked on the web, but it burns my butt knowing that Mark Zuckerberg is making money off me. Heaven knows it’s the only way the site ever will make money and I think people who bought shares in it are destined to take a huge hit when everyone wakes up to the mass delusional thinking that Facebook has any value.

It’s free to join. A while ago I wrote a blog about how I didn’t understand how it was surviving since it had no advertising. Michelle eventually corrected me, but that just shows you how effective Facebook advertising is. I didn’t even know it existed and apparently paid no attention to it. From time to time Zuckerberg has come up with a way for Facebook to make money, but the Facebook users, WHO USE IT FOR FREE, don’t like his ideas. So they rise up in great protest and he backs off. Great business model. Mark has a backbone like a jellyfish. Come up with a way to make money, then find that the people you give the service to, FOR FREE, don’t like it. Then put your tail between your legs and skedaddle home.

I saw the movie “The Social Network” and like any work of interpretation like this I’m sure there are many sides to this story. But the one thing I got out of it is that I don’t like Mark Zuckerberg. I didn’t like the way he took someone else’s idea, and I didn’t like the way he treated his friends. Many geniuses are social misfits and dickheads. Perhaps he’s a genius. Or just a jerk that got lucky. Either way, I’m out.

I don’t use Facebook because I don’t trust it. I’m always paranoid I’m going to make some comment on someone’s Facebook page and it’s going to go viral and millions of people will take it the wrong way. I write a blog that gets reposted all the time, but Facebook makes me nervous. Who’s reading that innocent comment I just made? And then they changed my profile page to Timeline and it sucks. I kept reading other people’s negative comments that Timeline, and they were right.

So I’ll just leave it to Google and Amazon to be creepy and track my movements on the web.

Facebook records over 47 categories of data on each user. How they could possibly get that much from how little I’ve used it is beyond me, but that’s the amount. This can be up to 1,000 pages of information printed out per person.

Facebook stores 100 petabytes of people’s photos and videos. For free. Not mega, giga or tera, but 100 Petabytes. They have to buy servers to do that. And they have to buy huge amounts of electricity to keep those servers running and keep them cool. And yet, they don’t charge for their services. They just keep hoping they can figure out a way to make money. Buy servers, buy electricity, and then give the service away.

And like the tech bubble when people bought Nortel stock at $124/share and watched it drop in value to pennies, people lined up to buy shares in Facebook. And like Nortel investors, I think they’ll be awfully disappointed. Because Facebook doesn’t really have a sound model for making money and they don’t make anything. They just buy stuff and give it away for free. A company like Apple with a market valuation of $500 or $600 billion actually makes stuff. They make real stuff and they put it in boxes and they sell it. And they make lots of money doing that. That’s a sound business concept. It’s like Warren Buffet buying Dairy Queen. He likes ice cream, other people like to buy it, and it’s a simple concept.

This Facebook vaporware is a grand illusion and the emperor has no clothes. No clothes and no idea to how to make money.

To those of you who read this blog and have become my “Friends” on Facebook, please don’t take it personally. I appreciate you reading the blog. I love you commenting on the blog. I often respond to questions and comments. And blog readers come up with some of our best ideas for blog topics. Thank you.

I convinced Michelle to disable my Facebook account for me, which is only fair since she’s the one who signed me up in the first place. I’ve found a couple of “girl” friends from high school, and linked up with Barry Silverstone who produced the documentary “The End of Suburbia” and I’ve enjoyed following the progress of his house being built on Facebook. But alas, now I will have to email Barry or phone him to find out what he’s up to. Imagine that? Speaking to someone. One day after I presented the Keynote Address at a sustainability symposium in Belleville, Michelle and I went out to dinner with Barry. And we chatted. And we got caught up on what was happening in each other’s lives. Sitting down with someone … Speaking to him or her! The wonders never cease.

I should patent this idea and trademark it and go public with it!

1 Comment

  1. ……so I guess you’ll now have to change this blog page too since we can’t “like” you on Facebook anymore (on the left column). lol That darn Facebook!

Leave a Reply

